WYNN Voted 2022 GWBA Coach of the Year

by Drey Wynn

Chicago, IL-  The Global Women’s Basketball Association (GWBA) proudly announces its Coach of the Year recipient for the 2022 season. Drey Wynn of the Flint Monarchs received the most votes among the league representatives and is this season’s honoree for Coach of the Year award.

Wynn was voted Coach of the Year after returning to the sidelines as Head Coach from a 10-year hiatus.  The Monarchs defeated the top two seeded teams and the defending national champions to win their sixth overall national championship in franchise history.

“With all humility I receive this award, our league has great coaches and to be recognized by my peers is memorable,” said Drey Wynn, Acting Head Coach and General Manager.

Wynn also coached Sparkle Taylor who was selected to the 2022 All-GWBA team, she led the GWBA in scoring at 27.1 points and was selected Finals MVP of the championship game on August 7. 

“I congratulate this seasons Coach of the Year recipient because this award is well deserved,” said Sonya Nichols, President and Founder. “The Flint Monarchs storyline this season was start from the bottom but now we finish here at the top.”

Wynn is the third coach in league history to be selected Coach of the Year, past recipients of this award include:

Coach Name



Duez Henderson

St. Louis Surge


Dan Carey

Wisconsin Glo


*2020 season was suspended due to the Covid-19 global pandemic

For more information, please visit www.gwba.us.